Heart of America 200: Grant Enfinger Wins First Race of the Year in the Heartlands

The GMS driver scored his first win of the year in a decisive victory at Kansas Speedway.

Christian Eckes lined up on the pole and took the lead of the race into the first turn from Kyle Busch, who started on the front row beside him. On lap 7 however, Ben Rhodes stormed past the McAnally driver and took the lead, with Eckes gradually slipping back through the field. 

With less than 10 to go in the stage, the first caution of the day came out for a spin from the Young’s Motorsports #20, driven by Nick Leitz.

The race resumed with 5 to go in the stage and Kyle Busch in the #51 took the lead from Zane Smith and won the first stage of the event.

Stage One Results:

  1. #51
  2. #99
  3. #38
  4. #23
  5. #4
  6. #24
  7. #16
  8. #11
  9. #42
  10.  #13

At the start of the second stage, Grant Enfinger in the #23 took the lead from Busch. This would last until a spin from the #20 of Kris Wright, when the lead would be forfeited to the Thorsport #98 of Ty Majeski. 

After a three-way fight for the lead in the closing laps, Majeski managed to hold on for the win in the second stage, from Grant Enfinger and Corey Heim. 

Stage Two Results:

  1. #98
  2. #23
  3. #11
  4. #24
  5. #38
  6. #19
  7. #16
  8. #4
  9. #52
  10.  #5

The green flag flew for the final stage and Grant Enfinger jumped out to the lead. 

On lap 74, Rajah Caruth in the #24 and Majeski’s #98 would wreck on the frontstretch as Caruth tried to block Majeski up high, resulting in both of them in the wall. 

The race resumed on lap 79 before it was immediately thrown under caution again, this time as a result of aggressive driving leading to a 5 truck accident in the first turn on the restart. Polesitter Eckes, Matt DiBenedetto and Carson Hocevar were among those knocked out of the race. 

Lap 86 saw action resume once again, with Corey Heim in the #11 leading from the #52 of Friesen. Heim’s race would be foiled due to the last caution, another spin from the #20 of Kris Wright. 

The final restart took place on lap 99, when Enfinger managed to find a way around Heim and drive home with his first victory of his 2023 campaign. 

Heim finished in the runner-up position, with Zane Smith 3rd, Friesen 4th and Chastain in 5th. 

Featured Image Credits: Patrick Vallely

Published by Joe Sell

Joe is a writer from Poole, UK. He is a fan of anything with four wheels and an engine and his favorite drivers are Ryan Blaney, Bubba Wallace and Daniel Suarez. Outside of racing, he enjoy watching sports and listening to country music.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: